Saturday, April 7, 2018

Minnesota Duluth wins the NCAA title

Minnesota Duluth took its come-from-behind overtime victory over Minnesota State in the first round of the NCAA tournament and rode it all the way to a national championship.

The Bulldogs won their second title, beating Notre Dame 2-1 on Saturday at the Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, the same arena where they won their 2011 crown.

Like they did against Air Force and Ohio State, UMD went up 2-0 in the first period and hung on to win the game.

On Saturday, Karson Kuhlman and Jared Thomas scored for the Bulldogs, who were the last at-large team to make the national tournament. Notre Dame’s Andrew Oglevie scored on the power play at 7:40 of the second period to make for a wild second half of the game.

All three Frozen Fours at the X have produced Minnesota winners, with the Gophers winning in 2002 and the Bulldogs winning in ‘11 and ‘18.

No comments: