Friday, February 10, 2017

Beavers win MacNaughton Cup

The Bemidji State men’s hockey team won the MacNaughton Cup as the WCHA’s regular-season champion on Friday night, defeating Alabama Huntsville 3-2.

It’s the first WCHA title for the Beavers.

Nate Arentz had a goal and an assist for Bemidji State. Gerry Fitzgerald and Jay Dickman had the other goals. Dickman’s goal at 6:00 of the third period gave the Beavers a 3-0 lead and stood as the game-winner, as the Chargers scored goals 38 seconds apart later in the period to make the game close. The Beavers outshot the Chargers 25-19. Michael Bitzer got the 17-save win.

Bemidji State (19-11-3, 19-4-2 in WCHA) won the title with three games remaining in its regular season and with several teams chasing them with games in hand.

In other WCHA action on Friday night, Ferris State defeated Michgan Tech 3-2, Northern Michigan blanked Alaska 3-0, and Alaska Anchorage beat Lake Superior State 3-2. Minnesota State is idle this weekend.

No comments: