Thursday, April 2, 2015

Hastings finalist for Penrose award

Mavericks coach Mike Hastings was named one of eight finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award, which goes to the national coach of the year in men's college hockey. The winner winner will be announced on April 8.

Hastings just wrapped up his third season with Minnesota State and was named WCHA coach of the year for the second time. MSU won the WCHA championship for the first time and the Final Five for the second time. It also went to its third consecutive NCAA tournament.

The Mavericks went 29-8-3 this year and are 79-36-7 under Hastings' watch. The 79 wins are more than any other team in the country over that same stretch.

Finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award are conference coach-of-the-year winners and those who have led their teams to the Frozen Four.

The other finalists are: Omaha's Dean Blais, St. Lawrence's Greg Carvel, Penn State's Guy Gadowsky, North Dakota's Dave Hakstol, Providence's Nate Leaman, Boston University's David Quinn, Robert Morris' Derek Schooley.

No comments: