Wednesday, January 7, 2015

Three Mavericks on early Hobey list

Fan voting is now open for the Hobey Baker Award, which goes to the most outstanding player in men’s college hockey.
Three Minnesota State players are among 59 nominated for this year’s award. They are senior forwards Matt Leitner and Jean-Paul LaFontaine and junior forward Bryce Gervais.
Leitner is the Mavericks’ leading scorer and tied for second in the WCHA in points with 20, including 15 assists, which also ranks second in the league.
LaFontaine ranks 10th in the WCHA in scoring with 16 points, including 12 goals.
Gervais leads the Mavericks and the WCHA in goals with 12 and is tied for fifth in the league and second on the team with 18 points. Four of his goals are game-winners.
Other WCHA players nominated include: Michigan Tech forward Tanner Kero and goaltender Jamie Phillips, Alaska forward Tyler Morley and Ferris State goalie C.J. Motte.
Fans can go to and vote. One vote per person is allowed per day. The fan vote makes up a small percentage of the early phases of the selection process, as the field is narrowed to 10 candidates and three finalists (aka the Hobey Hat Trick).

No comments: