Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Hastings named finalist for Penrose award

Minnesota State coach Mike Hastings was named one of seven finalists for the Spencer Penrose Award as the national coach of the year, the American Hockey Coaches Association announced on Wednesday.

Hastings was named WCHA coach of the year after his first season with the Mavericks, an honor that made him a candidate for the Penrose honor. Conference coaches of the year and those whose teams made the Frozen Four are up for the award.

The list also includes Bob Motzko of St. Cloud State, Keith Allain of Yale, Norm Bazin of UMass-Lowell, Enrico Blasi of Miami, Dave Burkholder of Niagara and Rand Pecknold of Quinnipiac.

The winner will be announced on April 10.

Earlier this year, College Hockey News named Hastings its national coach of the year.

1 comment:


These are all very high praises for the coach.

Let's not forget that 27+ players were the ones that turned these last 3+ years around on the ice!

Hats off to the players for what they have done not just to help this TEAM, rather future TEAMS by bringing respect back the Mavericks Mens Hockey.

And all the best to this years Seniors who made this a TRUE TEAM.