Thursday, March 14, 2013

Hastings, Williams earn major awards

The WCHA awards were announced Thursday afternoon, and Mike Hastings was named the league's Coach of the Year, while goaltender Stephon Williams was named Rookie of the Year, First Team All-WCHA and to the league's All-Rookie Team.

Senior forward Eriah Hayes and sophomore center Matt Leitner were named Third Team All-WCHA.

St. Cloud State's Drew LeBlanc is the WCHA's Player of the Year.

Here are the WCHA awards:

All-WCHA Awards
First team
Forwards: Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State; Ryan Walters, Nebraska Omaha; Danny Kristo, North Dakota
Defensemen: Nate Schmidt, Minnesota; Nick Jensen, St. Cloud State
Goaltender: Stephon Williams, Minnesota State

Second team
Forwards: Corban Knight, North Dakota; Erik Haula, Minnesota; Rylan Schwartz, Colorado College
Defensemen: Joey LaLeggia, Denver; Mike Boivin, Colorado College
Goaltender: Juno Olkinuora, Denver

Third team
Forwards: Matt Leitner, Minnesota State; Eriah Hayes, Minnesota State; Nick Bjugstad, Minnesota
Defensemen: Andrej Sustr, Nebraska Omaha; Jake McCabe, Wisconsin
Goaltender: Adam Wilcox, Minnesota

Rookie team
Forwards: Tony Cameranesi, Minnesota Duluth; Alex Petan, Michigan Tech; Rocco Grimaldi, North Dakota
Defensemen: Nolan Zajac, Denver; Andy Welinski, Minnesota Duluth
Goaltender: Stephon Williams, Minnesota State

Player of the Year: Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State

Rookie of the Year: Stephon Williams, Minnesota State

Defensive Player of the Year: Nick Jensen, St. Cloud State

Student-Athlete of the Year: Drew LeBlanc, St. Cloud State

Coach of the Year: Mike Hastings, Minnesota State

Scoring Champion: Ryan Walters, Nebraska Omaha

Goaltending Champion: Stephon Williams, Minnesota State

Read the MSU release here and the WCHA release here.

No comments: