Wednesday, September 26, 2012

Media pick Mavs 10th

The WCHA's preseason media poll was released at midnight Wednesday, and Minnesota State was picked to finish 10th in the 12-team conference. Minnesota was picked first with Nick Bjugstad earning preseason player of the year honors. Rocco Grimaldi is the preseason rookie of the year, earning the same award as he did a year ago, however, the North Dakota freshman took a redshirt season after suffering an injury.

Following is a look at the results. There were 25 voters, representing newspapers, websites, radio stations and blogs, s. (PucKato's picks can be found a couple of posts down):

1. Minnesota (24 first-place votes)
2. North Dakota (1)
3. Denver
4. Wisconsin
5. Minnesota Duluth
6. St. Cloud State
7. Colorado College
8. Nebraska Omaha
9. Michigan Tech
10. Minnesota State
11. Bemidji State
12. Alaska Anchorage

Preseason player of the year
Nick Bjugstad, F, Minnesota (16 votes). Others receiving multiple votes: Erik Haula, F, Minnesota (4), Mark Zengerle, F, Wisconsin (3)

Preseason rookie of the year: 
Rocco Grimaldi, F, North Dakota (8 1/2). Others receiving multiple votes: Nic Kerdiles, F, Wisconsin (5), Jordan Schmaltz, D, North Dakota (2 1/2), Brady Skjei, D, Minnesota (2), Andy Welinski, D, Minnesota Duluth (2)

Preseason All-WCHA
F-Nick Bjugstad, Minnesota (20)
F-Mark Zengerle, Wisconsin (17)
F-Ben Hanowski, St. Cloud State (8)
D-Joey LaLeggia, Denver (20)
D-Nick Jensen, St. Cloud State (9)
G-Sam Brittain, Denver (7 1/2) & Josh Thorimbert, CC (7 1/2)

Others receiving multiple votes: F-Danny Kristo, North Dakota (7), F-Erik Haula, Minnesota (6), F-Rylan Schwartz, Colorado College (5), F-Corban Knight, North Dakota (3), D-Nate Schmidt, Minnesota (7), D-Wade Bergman, Minnesota Duluth (3), G-Juho Olkinuora, Denver (3), G-Joel Rumpel, Wisconsin (2)

No comments: