Sunday, March 21, 2010

NCAA tournament field set

Wisconsin and Denver earned No. 1 seeds for the NCAA men's hockey tournament, which begins later this week. Wisconsin and WCHA tournament runner-up St. Cloud State will return to the Xcel Energy Center for the West Regional and will play Vermont and Northern Michigan, respectively. WCHA Final Five champion North Dakota is also in the tournament, but Minnesota Duluth ends up on the outside looking in.

Here's how the field shakes out:

WEST REGIONAL - St. Paul (Friday-Saturday)
1-Wisconsin vs. 4-Vermont
2-St. Cloud State vs. 3-Northern Michigan

EAST REGIONAL - Albany, N.Y. (Friday-Saturday)
1-Denver vs. 4-Rochester Institute of Technology
2-Cornell vs. 3-New Hampshire

MIDWEST REGIONAL - Fort Wayne, Ind. (Saturday-Sunday)
1-Miami vs. 4-Alabama-Huntsville
2-Bemidji State vs. 3-Michigan

NORTHEAST REGIONAL - Worcester, Mass. (Saturday-Sunday)
1-Boston College vs. 4-Alaska
2-North Dakota vs. 3-Yale

Many of the games will be broadcast on ESPNU. See this site for more TV information. The Frozen Four will take place April 8-10 in Detroit.

No comments: