Thursday, March 18, 2010

Four from WCHA are Hobey finalists

Four WCHA players were name among the top 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker award, which goes to college hockey's national player of the year.

The WCHA group includes two Wisconsin players, forward Blake Geoffrion and defenseman Kevin Smith, and two Denver players, forward Rhett Rakhshani and goalie Marc Cheverie.

Other finalists include: New Hampshire forward Bobby Butler, Maine forward Gustav Nyquist, Northern Michigan forward Mark Olver, RPI forward Chase Polacek, Miami goalie Cody Reichard and Cornell goalie Ben Scrivens.

The award will be announced on Friday, April 9, during the off-day of the Frozen Four in Detroit.

I don't know a lot about the non-WCHA guys. Butler is the nation's top goal scorer with 27. Nyquist leads the country in points with 59. ... I was glad to see Geoffrion on the list and think he would be a great pick for Wisconsin's first Hobey. Geoffrion was not put up by the Badgers for WCHA player of the year (Smith was). ... Cheverie, who was the WCHA's player of the year, would be a good choice, too.

No comments: