Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Jutting contract announced

MSU finally announced Wednesday that it has re-signed men's hockey coach Troy Jutting to a four-year contract extension. Here is MSU's release:

Minnesota State, Jutting Reach Agreement on Contract Extension;
Maverick Men’s Hockey Coach Will Head Into 2009-10 With New Deal in Place

Mankato, Minn. — Minnesota State University, Mankato officials have announced that Troy Jutting, head coach of the Maverick men’s hockey program, has reached an agreement on a four-year contract extension (effective July 1, 2009).

“As the composition of the Western Collegiate Hockey Association changes and we look ahead to league expansion, we are proud to have Coach Jutting back at the helm,” said Kevin Buisman, Minnesota State’s Director of Athletics. “Troy is a veteran coach who understands what it takes to be successful at this level. Our staff does a great job in terms of skill development, as evidenced by the number of players who have moved on from here to the professional ranks recently and that in turn has ratcheted up the quality of new talent we have coming in each year. Off the ice and in the classroom, these young men have generally been great ambassadors for the program. Attendance and interest continues to grow and we look forward to an exciting future with Coach Jutting behind the bench.”

Jutting, who is entering his tenth season at the MSU men’s hockey helm, has crafted a 142-162-44 won-loss record as head coach of the Mavericks. A two-time Western Collegiate Hockey Association Coach of the Year (2002-03 and 2007-08), Jutting has had three players earn All-America honors and nine players earn All-WCHA honors during his tenure. A total of 90 players have garnered WCHA All- Academic recognition under Jutting and two of them (Steven Johns in 2004-05 and Joel Hanson in 2007-08) have been named WCHA Student-Athlete of the Year. Of the 38 former Mavericks who have played professional hockey in the last nine years, Tim Jackman, Grant Stevenson, David Backes, Steven Wagner and Jon Kalinski have become the first players from the program to play in the National Hockey League.

Financial terms of the agreement were not released.

1 comment:

Joe said...

how about the guy that won the stanley cup...Ryan Carter?